Weasel Walter - Mary Halvorson - Peter Evans : Electric Fruit


"Electric Fruit" alludes to the vexing encounter between nature and technology, one of the most complex issues that we face as a global society. The album brings together a powerhouse of innovators—Weasel Walter, Mary Halvorson and Peter Evans—to emphatically capture, question and explore the throes of this crucial contradiction. "Electric Fruit" is a stirring and potent recording of the dangerous confrontation between the innate and the artificial, the organic and the robotic. Each member of the trio brings their peculiarities, problems and powers to the table for a passionate discourse on the demands and constraints of modern music and the world.

The album features Peter Evans’s intrepid explorations of the sonic possibilities of the trumpet, as he delivers yet another performance that crackles with wit and boundless energy. Mary Halvorson’s alkaline, wiry guitar lines lend an angular linearity to the forms and force structural direction while displaying a tart sense of deliberate dissonance. Weasel Walter erects maniacal, asymmetrical frameworks for his band mates to dart in and out of as his transparent, high-velocity drum approach creates constant momentum and simultaneously implies multiple directions. The players’ distinct instrumental voices weave labyrinthine strands of counterpoint at rapid paces, intentionally intersecting and negating each other from moment to moment in attempt to reach as many disparate points of structural coherence as possible.

The group forges a frenetic, yet painterly style of modern improvisational music imbued with intense speed and density. The music is brisk, strange and articulate, presenting a dry and bizarre sense of humor and play. The goal of the group is to create a new kind of music beyond idiom, with maximum intellect, reaction and musicality.

Already established leaders in their own right, Walter, Halvorson and Evans represent the best of a coming generation of talent. Having performed throughout the United States and Europe for the past several years, the trio now presents its debut studio recording, “Electric Fruit.”

About the Artists:

Drummer Weasel Walter is best known as leader of and primary composer for the long- running cult punk band The Flying Luttenbachers. Living in Chicago, the Bay Area, and most recently New York, Walter has spent the past two decades bridging numerous factions within the experimental music scene. He has performed with seminal noise-rock bands like Lake Of Dracula, Burmese and XBXRX, maintaining all the while his career as a free improviser. Walter has collaborated with luminaries such as Marshall Allen, Evan Parker, Henry Kaiser, Jim O’Rourke, G. Calvin Weston, Mick Barr, Ken Vandermark, William Winant, Kevin Drumm, Darius Jones, Vinny Golia and many others. Walter is also a current member of the noted NYC avant-garde ensemble Zs, the technical metal band Behold . . . The Arctopus, the no-wave trio Cellular Chaos and an ensemble he co-leads with drummer Marc Edwards.

Guitarist Mary Halvorson has been active in the New York music scene since 2002. She plays with two of her own bands, The Mary Halvorson Trio and Quintet, and co-leads a chamber music duo with violist Jessica Pavone. Mary also comprises one half of the avant-rock band People with drummer Kevin Shea. She is a veteran of Anthony Braxton’s ensembles, and has performed with Tim Berne, Taylor Ho Bynum, Trevor Dunn, Tomas Fujiwara, Tony Malaby, Myra Melford, Marc Ribot, Matana Roberts, Elliott Sharp and John Tchicai, among others. Mary is “the most original jazz guitarist to emerge this decade,” “the freshest…most critically acclaimed…slinger out of downtown Manhattan/Brooklyn right now” (Peter Margasak, Chicago Reader, Howard Mandel, Jazz Beyond Jazz).

Trumpeter Peter Evans moved to New York City in 2003 after graduating from Oberlin Conservatory with a degree in classical trumpet. In addition to leading his own ensembles, Evans performs with groups ranging from terrorist-bebop unit Mostly Other People Do the Killing to trumpeter Nate Wooley and the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE). Recent recordings include a 2-disc set of solo trumpet music, "Nature/ Culture,” as well as "Live in Lisbon,” an album of quartet music recorded at the Jazz em Agosto Festival 2009. Other collaborators include Steve Beresford, Okkyung Lee, Keiji Haino, Jim Black, Evan Parker, Tyshawn Sorey, Tony Buck and Christian Marclay.

Mary Halvorson - Guitar
Peter Evans - Trumpet
Weasel Walter


Enter email address    

Facebook Twitter   © 2008 Thirsty Ear Recordings Distributor Information   site designed and developed by Bezigon